Crock Pots

Everyone can appreciate a simple and delicious recipe right? I know I do! I experimented with this recipe about 2 months ago and used my crock pot for the second time ever since I got it (sorry mom). I was so nervous to use it.  Don’t you ever wonder if the crock pot is going to catch your home on fire? Come on, you know you have been that paranoid before.  If you haven’t, then clearly you have never used a crock pot! If this is your first crock pot experience then I would advise you to try this out on a day when you will be at home all day or at least intermittently to check on it (your sanity will thank you, you’re welcome)..ps the whole house catching on fire is mostly an irrational fear…

Also, (completely off topic) I went to the eye doctor on Monday and forgot about the part where they decide to make your pupils the size of M&Ms and slightly blind you (if you have never been to the eye doctor…don’t worry this is totally normal). So the doctor does the check up and everything is the same in my right eye (the only one needing a prescription) then the assistant/tech says, “Alright we are going to dilate your eyes and then put you in the dilation waiting room, unless you would like to check out the optical center.” — why do they even ask you that question?? You cannot see anything close up, how would I be able to pick out glasses?? Obviously I said “no thanks” to the optical center and then proceeded to sit in the dilation waiting room. This is where I made a valiant attempt to successfully text on my phone.  It was amazing and ridiculous…I had to use a lot of context clues to read incoming text messages…it was great ….anyway when I was leaving I told the assistant/tech girl that they should invent eye drops that reverse the dilation so you can actually be productive after you visit the eye doctor.  Evidently they have and it is dangerous and could cause blindness….I decided that the all natural way was indeed a better choice (it usually is).

Okay, back to Crock Pots! Here is the recipe!

Crock Pot Cilantro Lime Beef
Serves 3-4
Ingredients:
1 lbs flank steak
1 yellow onion, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped (optional—if you want it with a kick)
½ cup lime juice
avocado
fresh cilantro
Spices:
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper

Directions:
Rub the spices all over the flank steak. (I don’t ever measure…so add more if you would like). Put the steak in the bottom of the crock pot and cover with the chopped onions, lime juice, and jalapeno pepper. Turn heat on LOW and cook for 7 ½ -8 hours.
Remove meat from crock pot and shred. It should be very easy to shred.
Enjoy it on top of cilantro lime cauliflower rice (my favorite) and top it off with fresh cilantro (Yes more cilantro) and avocado.

Enjoy, be merry and do something awesome today!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pots

Leave a Reply

