Pomegranates

ImageOh my goodness, I can barely contain my excitement!  Pomegranate season is here, which means that yummy goodness will be blessing my life until January (that is when the season ends).  I always say that God intentionally made pomegranate season begin in September to coincide with my birthday and He knew that would be a sweet annual birthday present for me.  Yes I know that is very conceited of me to think that I am the reason for a season…whatever…just stroking my own ego a little…it happens. And moving on.

Pomegranates are delicious.  Here are some fun facts about them:
They are nutrient dense
Rich in antioxidants that offer protection against things like heart disease and cancer
You can cook with them (they are a great pairing with fish dishes)
They will last up to 2 months in the refrigerator and you can freeze them to enjoy the deliciousness year round.
Very unique flavor
Colorful addition to a salad and yummy addition (the juice) to water

Seeding a Pomegranate 101
I’ve found that most people are a bit intimidated by the process of getting to the fruit out of a pomegranate…let me just confess that the first time I tried to seed one it was a bloody mess (okay not really bloody, but the color of the juice is red and it is messy…close enough). So here is a very easy to follow process that I feel is the least “bloody” :
1.    Cut the pomegranate in half on a cutting board.
2.    Immerse the halves in a large bowl of cool water and soak for 5 minutes. Holding the fruit under water, break sections apart with your fingers, separating the seeds from membrane (the yellow stuff). The seeds will sink to the bottom of the bowl.
3.    Discard skin and membranes. Drain the seeds and enjoy!

For those who are more visually inclined here is a YouTube video.  This is how I learned to do it!

If you have not tried this delectable fruit then you are truly missing out in life and should give it a try this season.  It’s sweet and tart finish will leave you craving more and then you can obsess over it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

