Daring Greatly

This is the introduction to a book I have been reading:

I looked right at her and said, “I frickin’ hate vulnerability.” I figured she’s a therapist-I’m sure she’s had tougher cases.  Plus, the sooner she knows what she’s dealing with, the faster we can get this whole therapy thing wrapped up. “I hate uncertainty. I hate not knowing. I can’t stand opening myself to getting hurt or being disappointed. It’s excruciating. Vulnerability is complicated. And it’s excruciating. Do you know what I mean?” (Daring Greatly, Brene Brown)

I love this paragraph.  Haven’t we all been there?  Maybe not in a therapist’s office talking about how much you despise vulnerability…but haven’t you been there?  Haven’t you been in that place where the uncertainties are completely overwhelming and daunting?  The author of this book goes on to describe vulnerability as exquisite.  Something beautiful and valuable that only deepens meaning…but living a whole-hearted life is a lot to ask of most people.  The premise for the book is talking about letting go of anxiety and all these other things (difficulties, barriers) in order to achieve true vulnerability.  I’m sure most of you will not be running to Barnes and Noble to pick up a copy and that’s cool.  It is a book for therapists….but often times we need someone, or something to challenge us.  Sometimes we need someone to look us in the eyes and say vulnerability is exquisite, don’t miss out. So my challenge to you on this great Friday is: ask yourself the question “How can I live more whole-heartedly today?”  — ask, evaluate and go do something that dares you greatly.

Leave a Reply

